Anonymiss in DC











{January 14, 2009}   Grammar and Punctuation

So I joke around and I routinely use the non-word “ain’t”, and I realize that everyone screws up “there” “their” and “they’re” once in a while (including me, I’m ashamed to admit.)

But really? I just cannot get over how many people have no clue what they are doing with the English language.

“Your stupid.” (Something written on a friend of mine’s Facebook wall.)

Umm.

Wow.

How does one even answer that? (His answer was “My stupid what?”) Ha.

A couple times I’ve gotten Christmas cards, signed as follows:

“Love,

The Smith’s”

or

“Love,

The Jones’ ”

And I occasionally drive by a farm named “Three Sister’s Farm.”

And it sort of gets to me, but at least these are just people living their lives; not professionals trying to impress anyone.

But yesterday (and no, I don’t CARE that you’re not supposed to start sentences with “and” or “but”), my company sent out an e-mail blast containing the following sentence [identifying details removed so no one kills me]:

The red and the green color scheme have distinct meanings, with red representing W and X while the green represents Y & Z.

This actually hurt me inside.

1. “The red and green color scheme have distinct meanings…”:

Ummm… ok, this doesn’t make sense.  The color scheme doesn’t have distinct meanings– each color in the color scheme has its own distinct meaning.  So it’s: “Red and green have distinct meanings”…

2. “…with red representing W and X while the green represents Y & Z”

I’m sorry– do we have a single verb in two separate tenses in the same sentence? Red is “representing” but green “represents”?!?

Parallel structure, people!

You have two options. Pick one:

a. Red and green have distinct meanings:  red represents W and X while  green represents Y and Z.

OR

b.  Red and green have distinct meanings , with red representing W and X and green representing Y and Z.

You should also notice I removed the “the” from in front of “green”.  You can’t have “red” and “the green.”

Pain.

Carrie Clark says:

I love you mainly because I found irony in your post!

“So I joke around and I routinely use the non-word “ain’t”, and I realize that everyone screws up “there” “their” and “they’re” once and a while (including me, I’m ashamed to admit.)”

While it’s not a grammar mistake, the proper phrase is “once in a while,” not “once and a while.” =)

LOVE!



anonymissindc says:

I fixed it just for you, but A, it’s not a grammar mistake, and B, you suck 😛

LOVE:P



Carrie Clark says:

I noted it was not a grammar mistake!! Heeheehee.

I do not suck. 😛



anonymissindc says:

Do too! 😛



Carrie Clark says:

The 5-year old in me says: Do not! 😛



Leave a Reply

et cetera
