Anonymiss in DC











{January 23, 2009}   Is it spring yet?

Today the most amazing thing happened: I walked out of my office at 5:30 and it was not yet pitch-dark yet. The sun was gone, but there was still light on the horizon. And I literally felt giddy.  Isn’t that ridiculous?

Every fall, I look forward to the apples and the pumpkins and the bright orange, red, and yellow leaves. I love the silliness of Halloween, and the farewell-to-fall of Thanksgiving.  I confess, though, that each year, even as I’m loving autumn, I start dreading winter. Winter: that awful time of year when I will once again start waking up in the dark, leaving work in the dark, hauling my heavy winter coat and mittens and hats everywhere and slathering myself in lotion for extra dry skin.

The good news is, because it doesn’t hit all at once, it sort of sneaks up on me and I’m not really attuned to how bleak things are by the time I’m in the thick of it. Like most people, I just keep chugging. I’m aware of the cold and the darkness, but I don’t even think about it. It just is.

But then, every year, the promise of warmer, brighter days starts to tease me. Yesterday, when I walked out of my office and discovered there was still light, I realized that I haven’t thought in months about those lazy summer nights when I strolled out of the office in the bright sunshine, digging my sunglasses out of my bag and slipping flip-flops on my feet for the trek to the metro.

That was the moment.

Just like that, I’m thinking about spring. I had my first taste of it (if one can even call it that), and that’s all it takes.

It’s January 23rd, and I am ready for the robins and the daffodils and the baby chicks and bunnies. 😛

Leave a Reply

et cetera
