Anonymiss in DC











{February 18, 2009}   Music at work

It is amazing how listening to the right stuff can turn a miserable, ugly, grey, dark, rainy day in February into something liveable.

Thank God for Last.fm and Pandora. Really. These are my sources of sanity at work. My much-needed sources of sanity.

So for the last couple of days, I’ve gotten bored and made my Gmail “status” various song lyrics that somehow seem applicable to something I’m thinking about and/or a part of a song I cannot extract from my head. πŸ˜›

Examples:

2 days ago: “But wouldn’t it be beautiful…”

…because I was thinking about that Liz Phair song. (Obviously.)

1 day ago: “She needs wide open spaces…”

…because I love the Chicks, and because I was feeling like being alone and contemplative…

and today…because it’s just so great to have upbeat music:

“UNO! DOS! TRES! CATORCE!”

Which, you know, I thought was a pretty generic thing to say these days, or I did, until *someone* messaged me the following:

What the heck is ur WEIRD-ASS away message?

So apparently not so generic.

Back to my hyper, sunny, self for once, I promptly dragged her out into the hallway outside our office and launched into my best U2 impression:

“UNO!

DOS!

TRES!

CATORCE!!!

DUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH!

DUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH NUH!

THE NIGHT!

IT’S COLD!

IT’S DARK!

THE TROUBLE IS YOUR HEAD…

….

….

No??

….

She had no idea what I was talking about. πŸ˜›

So we’re getting in the elevator to go downstairs to grab coffee, and I’m pretty sure she’s just weird, so I quickly stop the door with my foot and ask our other coworker, who’s on her way back to the office:

“If I said to you ‘UNO! DOS! TRES! CATORCE!…would you know…”

aaaand her blank look says it all.

Wow.

I am alone. πŸ˜›

PEOPLE! Bono?! Vertigo?! Is any of this ringing a bell?! πŸ™‚

Oh well.

So I go back to my desk and am serenaded by the Pointer Sisters singing “Jump” at 9:45 am on a miserable Wednesday morning, and Eddie Money belting out “Take me Home Tonight”…and while it’s still a miserable day, I think I’ll make it. πŸ™‚

Patrick says:

I have been using music lyrics for away messages for years!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
