Anonymiss in DC











{March 24, 2009}   More fun on metro: Ads

This is going to be a short one, but I just want to give a shout out to people who make my metro rides interesting (in a positive way– not you jerks who listen to your music too loud!)

I’m not advocating vandalism or anything, but sometimes, harmless vandalism makes me giggle.

Favorite Examples of Late:

1. Have you seen those rectangle-ish advertisements hanging in metro cars that are trying to get people to go for church since it’s Lent? They’re blue and yellow and feature the words “Missing Something? Maybe It’s God.” Well the other day, I discovered that someone had very neatly written underneath: “Maybe not.”

Simple modification, but I love it.

2.  Some people go to more trouble to vandalize ads, and sometimes even for a good cause! For weeks, I’ve been semi-irked by those stupid Chevron “We actually care about the environment” posters on the trains and all over Farragut North Metro. You know, the ones that say “I will unplug stuff more” and “I will commute more with others”, and, my personal fav:  “I will at least consider a hybrid.” (That last one is especially bizarre– I will “at least consider” it– but then instead, I’ll buy an SUV and guzzle Chevron’s product? *sigh*)

So yesterday, I saw one in a train that somebody had modified using markers and some kind of adhesive tape. They left the “I will” and added  “not buy products from Chevron.”

For added bonus points, in the lower left-hand corner, they wrote “Chevron is responsible for human rights abuses in Equador and Nigeria” and provided a link to Amnesty International.

I love it that somebody was irked enough by Chevron’s shameless PR campaign to actually call them on it using markers and tape. Hoorah for social consciousness! (And thank you, vandal, for making me smile!)

Leave a Reply

et cetera
