Anonymiss in DC











{May 18, 2009}   Crazy DC drivers

So it’s Monday, and I feel the need to send a little shout out to those anonymous individuals who make my morning a little more exciting.

Theoretically, I’m supposed to be at work at 8:30 am, but in the last week or so, I’ve been really bad and have been schmucking in closer to 9 am. And I have to tell you, I think people are a little more stressed out around that time  then they are 30 minutes earlier, because I have had several close encounters with half-crazed DC drivers.

This morning was no exception.   You know how on K Street they have the road, then a little median/sidewalk, then another one-lane “pull off” lane, and then the “real” sidewalk? So I was walking in the pull-off lane near Farragut North metro where they are allegedly going to start building that new office building.  I know– that wasn’t smart of me– but that block has been under construction forever, and I kind of forgot that they are letting people drive on it now. ANYWAY.)

So suddenly, out of NOWHERE, some car goes FLYING by me at about 40 MPH– missing my body by approximately 6-12 inches. The car then travels about 100 feet up to stop at the blatantly red traffic light at 18th street. (By the time the light turns green like 20 seconds later, I’m about ten feet behind.)

In Summary:  Some guy FLEW past me, nearly plowing me over in the process, in order to get to a red light.

Really?!

Now I know, I know, I should have hopped up on the sidewalk and not been walking in the little “pull off street” next to the sidewalk– period– however close I was to the side. But still.  How fast does one need to go to stop at a red light?!

And last week, while I was attempting to cross K at 19th street during a walk signal, some guy in a BMW made a right turn like a bat out of hell, going straight through the crosswalk without a second thought. Catching my slightly panicked look as he did so, he blew me a kiss.

@$$hole.

What the hell, people?!? Plowing down the pedestrians is not going to get you to work any faster. Leave earlier, or better yet: take public transportation. Jeez!

Patrick says:

I used to have to come in at 8:30 but now I get to come in at 9- while I like the extra time in the morning I don’t like coming in with the rest of the rat race… at least I drive so I don’t get hit like you.



Carrie says:

Wow. That’s insane hon! I get in at or before 8 and it’s surprising how few people are out at that time.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
